Connect with us


Police gets 3 new DIGs from North



 Police gets 3 new DIGs from North
Police Service Commission 1024x539

The Police Service Commission has approved the appointment of three Assistant Inspectors General of Police to the rank of Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs) .

In a statement signed by the Commission’s spokesman Ikechukwu Ani, the new DIGs are expected to fill the vacant duty posts created due to the retirements of three DIGs representing the North Central, North East, and North West geopolitical zones.

Ani also stated that the approval of the appointments of the new DIGs has also ensured that the defined succession policy in the Nigeria Police is sustained.

AIG Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa, the current Force Secretary, will replace retired DIG Mustapha Dan- Daura for the North West slot. DIG Dan- Daura retired on the 15th of January this year.

READ ALSO :Police commissioners shun promotion interview

AIG Aji Ali Janga from North East will replace DIG Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim who retired on the 26th of November 2022, while AIG Adeleke Adeyinka Bode of North Central will replace DIG Sanusi Lemu who retired on the 31st of January this year.

The new appointments were part of the decisions of the reconvened 18th Plenary Meeting of the Commission which was held in Abuja on Thursday, 2nd, and Friday 3rd February 2023, and chaired by Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi JSC RTD CFR, acting Chairman of the Commission.

The Commission suspended the promotion of eight Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General and eleven Deputy Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Commissioners due to their failure to appear before it for the mandatory promotion interview.

The Commission had sent invitations to the Officers to appear before it for the usual interaction to ascertain their suitability and capability for the new Offices.

The Commission expressed surprise at their failure to honour the Invitation especially as the 2023 general elections are just days away.

The Commission approved the promotion of ten Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners; 17 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners and 301 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents.
47 skipped Deputy Superintendents of Police from previous recommendations to the Commission were also promoted to Superintendents of Police while 665 Assistant Superintendents of Police were promoted to Deputy Superintendents of Police.
The recommendations for ACP Nwamanna Nelson, SP Iliyas Casimir, and SP Alheri Mamman were also endorsed and the Officers were promoted to their following ranks after they were absolved of any Pending Disciplinary Matter (PDM).

Justice Ogunbiyi charged the newly promoted Officers to give their best to the service of their nation especially now that Nigeria will be going to the polls to elect new leaders.
She congratulated and wished the Officers success in their new ranks.



vanguard news today

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

© 2018- 2022 PlatinumPost Multimedia Limited. All Rights Reserved.