Connect with us


NNPP dissolves structure to join APC in Zamfara



 NNPP dissolves structure to join APC in Zamfara



All existing structures of the Zamfara State chapter of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) have been collapsed as members of the new party have joined Governor Bello Matawalle in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

This was made known by the NNPP’s Organisin’g Secretary in the state, Babangida Haruna Damba when he led the state executive members of NNPP on behalf of its Chairman, Muhammad Sani Anka and the 10 local government party chairmen who decamped along with all their supporters to APC at the Government House.

Declaring their resolve to join APC, Damba said they decided to collapse the NNPP to join Governor Matawalle’s APC because the NNPP lacks internal democracy and focus, which are strong indications that the party may not do well in all contestable positions at the state and national levels in the coming 2023 general elections.

He added that NNPP had been dead on arrival at its formative stage in the state as it was perpetually engulfed by protracted crises since it is being run by only one unpopular person. He further explained that the NNPP presidential candidate is only in the race as a spoiler who is ready to bury the party at the end of the elections.

READ ALSO:PDP chairman, 500 stalwarts defect to APC in Yobe


While welcoming the defectors to the APC at the Government House, Governor Matawalle expressed happiness and commended them on their wise decision to join the APC.

He said APC will continue to receive more defectors and supporters in the state for many reasons because of its fairness to all members, its inclusiveness, its love for peace, and its provision of dividends of democracy.

The governor assured the new entrants that they will always be given equal treatment and opportunities like the older members and urged them to continue to be law-abiding as well as convince more people to join the winning party so as not to be left behind.

The State Executive of the NNPP who decamped to APC includes the state Chairman Alh Sani DD Anka, State Organising Secretary, Babangida Haruna Damba, State Treasurer, Alhaji Hamza Yahaya, State Welfare, Ibrahim Muhammad, State Woman Leader, Hajiya Zuwaira Muhammad, Assistant Organising Secretary.

Others are Nura Garba, Assistant Publicity Secretary, Anas Dalibi, Deputy Woman leader, Jamila Adamu Bakura, State Zonal Vice-chairman, Bashir Dokau, State Ex-officio 1, Alhaji Abubakar Madina and Leader of Person with Disability, Ibrahim Hayatu.

The local government chairmen that joined the APC from the NNPP are Jamilu Musa Barade, Bukkuyum, Tajjuddeen Lauwali, Bakura, Ibrahim Abubakar, Maradun, Yahuza Usman, Gusau, Salisu Muhammad, Kaura Namoda, Bello Abubakar, Shinkafi, Abdullahi Shehu, Maru, Ibrahim Dangaladima, Bungudu, Basiru Lawal and Salihu Ibrahim Dauran.

Others are the state’s 14 local government women leaders and the party’s House of Assembly candidates from Zurmi and Kabiru Muhammad Zurmi.

The Nation

punch newspaper

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter