Connect with us


New NFF president to emerge today in Benin



 New NFF president to emerge today in Benin


The new man and board that will constitute the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) will emerge today at the 78th Annual General Assembly of the federation to be held in Benin City, capital of Edo State.

Apart from the election of the new NFF President, the election of a new Executive Committee to steer the affairs of the nation’s supreme football–ruling body for the next four years will be held.

A ruling by the Court of Appeal yesterday ordered a stay-of-execution of an ex parte injunction secured by some fellows a fortnight ago to stop the elections, meaning that the coast is now clear for an interesting contest for the NFF presidency by 10 prominent individuals and dozen other notable persons jostling for seats on the Executive Committee.

More representatives of the world football-governing body, FIFA arrived in Benin City just before noon yesterday. Solomon Mudege, FIFA’s Head of Development Programmes for Africa, and Gelson Fernandes, a former Swiss international player who is FIFA’s Director for Africa were in an excited mood.

READ ALSO :Northern caucus seals deal on next NFF president

Mudege said: “We are happy to be here and to witness another milestone in the history of Nigeria Football. We believe it is going to be an interesting Congress with the elections.”

Among the 10 persons jostling to succeed Amaju Melvin Pinnick as Nigeria football’s supremo are current vice presidents, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi (1st VP) and Mallam Shehu Dikko (2nd VP), as well as current Executive Committee Member and Chairman of Chairmen, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau and another current Executive Committee Member, Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

There is also an immediate past General Secretary, Musa Amadu, and Head of Safety and Security of the Confederation of African Football, Dr. Christian Emeruwa.

Also in the hunt for the exalted post are Chairman of the FCT Football Association, Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed; former Nigeria international goalkeeper, Peterside Idah; former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and respected technocrat, Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola and; UK-based David-Buhari Doherty.

A former NFF 1st Vice President, Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, pulled out of the race during the week.

Paul Yusuf from Plateau State was disqualified as a result of an invalid nomination; the same axe that swept Marcellinus Anyanwu from Imo State out of the race.

The elections will commence after other items on the agenda for the 78th Annual General Assembly have been dealt with. Winners would be sworn in immediately after the elections.




Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *