Connect with us


Umahi disowns Ex-Buhari’s appointee as winner of Ebonyi APC guber ticket



 Umahi disowns Ex Buhari s appointee as winner of Ebonyi APC guber ticket

Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State has disowned the immediate past chairman of the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC), Elias Mbam, as the winner of the 2023 All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship ticket.

The governor in a statement issued by his spokesman, Francis Nwaze, on Thursday, said the APC primary was won by the Speaker of Ebonyi State House of Assembly, Francis Nwifuru.

READ ALSO :Ex-Buhari’s appointee wins Ebonyi APC guber ticket

He said : “The Speaker of Ebonyi State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Francis Ogbonnaya Nwifuru has emerged the APC gubernatorial candidate haven emerged the winner of the guber primary election keenly contested by 5 prominent Ebonyians. The election took place at the Pa Ngele Oluta township stadium, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State.

“The result was announced by the Chairman of the Ebonyi State APC gubernatorial primary election committee, Prof. Emmanuel Adebayo. K. And the election process was fully monitored by INEC and the members of the press.

” Below are the aspirants scores as announced by the Committee Chairman:
Rt. Hon. Francis Ogbonnaya Nwifuru : 743
Mrs. Rosemary Ofoke Nwogbaga: 63
Sen. Julius Ucha: 22
Engr. Elias Mbam: 10
Sir. Edward Ngweagu: 8
Invalid votes: 8
Vote(s) not cast: 1. ”

PlatinumPost reports that Mr Egwu Inya, Returning Officer (RO) for the APC primary had earlier announced Mbam as the winner of the contest on Thursday afternoon.

He said Mbam polled 741 votes to defeat Mr Francis Nwifuru, Speaker of the Ebonyi House of Assembly, who polled seven votes, Sen. Julius Ucha four votes, Mrs Rosemary Ofoke who polled one vote.

According to him, the election was peaceful, credible, free and fair, adding that a total of 22 invalid votes were recorded.


Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2018- 2022 PlatinumPost Multimedia Limited. All Rights Reserved.


- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -