Connect with us


PDP announces winner of Niger chairmanship election



 PDP announces winner of Niger chairmanship election

The Niger State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) congress on Saturday held at the state secretariat of the party has been won by the outgone state chairman, Tanko Beji.

The chairman, PDP congress committee and Benue State Deputy Governor, Benson Abounu declared Barr. Tanko Beji as the winner of the PDP Niger State’s chairmanship contest at the just concluded congress.

Announcing the results of the chairmanship election at about 01:00am on Sunday, the congress committee chairman said, “a total of 2,305 delegates/voters were accredited in the process out of which Tanko Beji, the outgone PDP chairman, in the state polled 2, 092 votes while his co-contestant, Mr Ahmed Muktar got only 2 votes while 8 votes were declared null and void.

Therefore, the congress chairman declared Barr. Tanko Beji as the winner of the Niger State’s chairmanship seat and returned elected for second term.

READ ALSO :Jonathan attends wedding of daughter of ex-gov who dumped PDP for APC

The remaining people did not cast their votes for any candidate, as such, undecided as their ballot papers were never found in any of the boxes.

Benson, thereby, thanked God for a successful outing and all the PDP stakeholders as well as the delegates for their cooperation, patient, zeal and dedication despite the heavy downpour from the onset of the congress, till the conclusion of the congress.

Meanwhile, also present at the occasion were some frontline members of the party in the state such as former Senator representing Niger South Senatorial District at the National Assembly and a widow of a former State Governor, Late A.A. Kure, Hajiya Zainab Kure; the National Financial Secretary of the party, Alhaji Abdullahi Maibashira and a former Secretary to the Niger State Government, Alhaji Idris Kpaki, among others.




the nation newspaper

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

© 2018- 2022 PlatinumPost Multimedia Limited. All Rights Reserved.


- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -