Connect with us


Lagos bye-election : APC candidate to emerge winner



 Lagos bye election APC candidate to emerge winner

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of Saturday’s Lagos East senatorial by-election in Ikorodu division.

Dr Andu Akala, INEC Local Government Collation Officer for Lagos East Senatorial poll for Ikorodu, declared the result at the INEC collation centre in Ikorodu on Saturday.

According to Akala, the APC’ Tokunji Abiru, polled 19,204 votes to beat his closest rival, Babatunde Gbadamosi, of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who got 3,766 votes in all the 19 wards in Ikorodu.

READ ALSO : Lagos bye-election: PDP senatorial candidate wins own polling unit

He added that ADP got 167 votes, ADC – 107 votes and AAC – 84, out of the 23, 966 total votes cast in the federal constituency election.

The APC candidate also clinched comfortable victory in the Epe area, which position him to emerge as the Senator for Lagos East.

Prof. Elijah Oyeyemi, INEC collation officer in Epe, said that Abiru won with a wide margin of 22,213 out of the total votes cast of 24,678.

He said the total accredited voters was 24,736 while the total registered voters was 147,074.

The INEC official said valid votes was 24,296, while voided votes was 382.

The Lagos East senatorial election was held in five local government areas, comprising Somolu, Kosofe, Ikorodu, Epe and Ibeju-Lekki.

However, the overall result would be announced at INEC Senatorial Collation Centre in Somolu.


Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

X whatsapp