Gov. Emmanuel sends list of commissioner nominees to A’Ibom assembly

The Akwa Ibom House of Assembly on Tuesday received the list of 21 Commissioner nominees and two Special Advisers from Gov. Udom Emmanuel for screening and confirmation.
The list of the nominees was read at the plenary by the Clerk of the Assembly, Mrs Mandu Umoren.
The Leader of the House, Mr Udo Kierian informed the house of the list in a motion, which was seconded by the Deputy Leader, Mr Aniefiok Akpan, PDP representing Etinan State constituency.
The commissioner nominees include Messrs Akan Okon, Ime Ekpo, Nse Essien, Uwemedimo Nwoko, Monday Uko, Linus Nkan, Okpolupm Etteh, Ephraim Inyaneyen, Ekong Sampson, Charles Udoh, Orman Esin and Dr Iniobong Essien.
Others are Dr Dominic Ukpong, Dr Glory Edet, Messrs Udo Ekpenyong, Uno Etim Uno,, Rapheal Bassey, Victor Bassey, Ukpong Akpabio, while Mr Sunny Ibuot and Mrs Ekemini Umoh were nominated as special advisers.
The Speaker, Mr Aniekan Bassey, referred the list to the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Public Petitions.
The House directed the committee to report back in seven days.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that also at plenary, the House inaugurated 26 standing committees for effective parliamentary proceedings.
The committees include, Information, which has Mr Aniefiok Akpan as Chairman; Judiciary, Human Rights and Public Petitions with Mr Victor Ekwere as Chairman; and Education with Mr Godwin Ekpo, as Chairman among others.
The House adjourned plenary to July 4. (NAN)

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here