JUST IN: Jigawa Assembly impeaches speaker, 2 other principal officers


Jigawa State House of Assembly on Thursday impeached its Speaker, Isa Idris-Gwaram, Majority leader Sani Abubakar and Chief Whip Aminu Sankara.

Confirming the development to newsmen in Jigawa, the Director of House Information, Babangida Usman-Hadejia, disclosed that one member Haladu Usman moved the motion for the impeachment and was seconded by the majority lawmakers.

Consequently, according to him, Idris Garba Kareka was elected as its new Speaker, Kais Abdallah as new majority leader and Bala Hamza-Gada as the new Chief Whip.

Details later…

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here